Gratitude part 2: the things I love

In my last post, I talked about the simple thought of feeling gratitude for my body and all it can still do. It has changed the way I think and the way I react to pain: I don’t go back and beat myself up as much about why I am in pain, instead I try to tell myself, “I can feel grateful for all the parts of me that still do the little that they are able to right now, and I can do the small things that make me happy!”

Today I will talk about how I started to feel gratitude for the other things around me. I took a piece of paper, and wrote down all the beautiful and wonderful things in my life that I am happy for. It looked something like this:

~ the cutest cuddly toys ever (they are so cute!!!)
~ my amazing mum who has looked out for me since I was very small and still does so much for me!
~ my wonderful boyfriend, who has been with me through it all and has also bought me lots of cuddly toys when I was down 🙂
~ yummy food
~ lovely friends who visit me and bring takeaway food!
~ moving to a new home through a social housing exchange scheme (I am now in a more accessible flat, which is also much warmer than the old one!)
~ my colourful clothes and love of sewing (even though I’m only learning)
~ the opportunity to learn about meditation and yoga 
~ my love of reading, all the wonder that books have brought me and all the excitement for the books that I have yet to read! 
~ disney films
~ nature: the park near my flat and also regents park in central London which I know I will get to visit again soon!
~the amazing and thoughtful postcards and letters I receive from my friend who lives in South Africa. About 6 months ago, when I wasn’t able to leave the house, these would arrive every few days and cheer me up so much..and they still continue to do so! They’re very artistic / photos of the beautiful animals that can be found in South Africa, and his postcards always bring a smile to my face 🙂 

Here’s one of the postcards 🙂

e620dead-219d-4144-a3e9-d5ec364b73de

…The more I think about it, the more I find to add to the list. At first this was quite hard, because all I could focus on was my body and state of mind. But now it’s much easier. This list is such a simple thing to do, which had such a profound effect and made me remember why life is so wonderful! 

When I love something, I feel gratitude for it 🙂 

I feel gratitude for what I have right now, and I am following my heart and doing more of the things that I can do right now that make me feel happier. We cannot control the thoughts that we have, but we can direct our attention towards what makes us happy; over time, this can have a huge affect on how we react to the world around us and react to the situation we find ourselves in. Finding the beauty in the small things, as well as the big things, is sometimes the easiest way to keep going.

(Here is Seashells, one of those cuddly toys I mentioned. She is so quirky and cool. She inspires me to be myself! ❤ )

image (6)

Leave a Reply

